I guess you could say we’re complementary egalitarians.

Despite the fact that it has been a little over eight months since our wedding (HOW DID IT GO SO FAST???) I still look at our photos on a daily regular basis. Judge as you will. I go through cycles of which one is my favorite (I know, now I’m getting really narcissistic) and currently it is this one:

WegmannWedding449

But if I had to pick one picture that actually spoke the most clearly of our marriage, and not just our wedding, it would be this one:

kitchen_1

I suppose that technically, we have what would be called a Very Traditional Marriage in terms of gender roles: I do all the laundry, all the cooking, all the grocery shopping and meal planning, and 95 % of the house cleaning. I delight in puttering around our home and I am crazy proud of having good dinners ready when James gets home in the evening. I pack his lunch every day, alongside my own.

But every evening, regardless of how tired he is, how busy his own day was, or how much work he still has to do, James does the dishes. And with that simple daily act, I am reminded that what I do for him and our home matters, is valued, and that we are partners, rather than me just being his housekeeper.

We talk a lot about gender roles in marriage, especially within the Christian circles. We debate “complementarian” vs “egalitarian” views, thought of by opponents “abusive male headship” vs. “feminist control freaks.”  The homemakers attack the working moms, the working moms judge the homemakers, and the men can’t seem to do anything right as they are either chauvinistic or weak. We hear sermons about woman submitting and men loving and we get all upset about what this means in our everyday lives, so we either wave it around as a banner to justify whatever we want to do, or we reject it as outdated and irrelevant.

Frankly, I think if everyone stopped stressing about how to label their marriage, and just lived it, maybe the state of marriage in our nation – especially among Christians – would be a lot better.

Because James and I have an egalitarian marriage, in the sense that we are equals. I am a person, he is a person, and we are both equally invested in our marriage, and we both work hard to make it work. We are both equally valued by each other, by God, and hopefullysomeday by our children. My opinion matters no more and no less than his.

But we also have a complementarian marriage because we complement each other in marriage. James makes most of the money, which lets me be in school. Our tasks are different because I am better at cooking, cleaning, housekeeping, and I like it more. Is that because I am a woman and it was decided by society that I have these skills? Maybe, but I don’t really care.  James delights in providing, so he does most of that. And I defer to him for big financial stuff, since he has a better grasp of our long-term finances. Thus, I guess you could say he is the leader.

I’m getting at is that I don’t think marriage should be about naming roles for each other. By getting married, didn’t we kind of promise to put the other person first, to love and serve them? And doesn’t that apply to both parties? It’s not like men have a monopoly on the love task while women do all the serving.  For me, this means that when I am home all day, it makes sense for me to do some housework and make some food. To refuse that because I wanted to prove a point about us being equal would be selfish, just like James refusing to let me use money just because he is the one who makes more would be selfish.

Yes, maybe I am under-qualified to write this, given my pretty short window of experience. However, I feel like must of the discussion about this topic has little to do with marriage and a lot to do with selfishness. Selfishness is always something that we should seek to limit, be it in a marriage or elsewhere. This means that the same things that make someone a good spouse makes them a good person, a good employee, a good friend. We spend so much energy discussing gender roles in marriage, that we kind of marginalize unmarried people. Service, selflessness, keeping a home, managing finances, helping out people around you – aren’t those really just qualities of good people?  And I’m not talking about “grooming qualities during singleness so that they can help you out in marriage.” If that isn’t demeaning, then I don’t know what is. I’m talking about grooming qualities during life that make you better in every relationship imaginable.

jamesandmewinter

So I guess you could say that we’re complementary egalitarians. As most good marriages probably end up being.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 13 Comments

What’s in a name… A “W,” obviously!

Confession: I am not good at interior design.

I may have already mentioned this, but I have had a really hard time decorating our home and I don’t really understand why. I’m artsy, I love well decorated homes, and I know the IKEA layout like the back of my hand. But I just really struggle with putting together an awesome room.  You might not actually notice this is you came to my home because I don’t have anything offensively ugly and what I lack in creative decor I make up for in cleanliness, good lighting, and lack of clutter. But most of the good design decisions in my home have been deeply intense processes involving the input of everyone I know and mannnnyyyyyyy trips to Home Goods.  Commitaphobia+lack of clear design vision= inability to decorate.

The kitchen and bedroom look pretty good, but the living room… well there’s a reason I haven’t ever given a straight-on shot of our living room. It’s because it looks like this:DSC_4521

I really want something on that wall, but for the longest time, I haven’t known what. But then it came to me: I want a W.

People, I love having a W in my name. Yes, it means that my children will always be in the back of the line in alphabetical order, but it will make them stronger. W’s are just such lovely letters, with all those lovely sweeps. They can also be strong bold letters. I spend a lot more time doodling W’s than I care to admit.

Lately I have been seeing lots of cool letters used in wall decor, but so often it makes things look childish. But the other day I took a thesis writing break to cruise Pinterest for some new interior design inspiration and I came across these more mature letters incorporated into wall decor. 3da2fde41cc47b71ff993a6efb5489ee
29b202e483261ad2a6fb9a439e996c95 82da21696632604121f8ea5feb844344 648fd35f4c564b4d619a4da6e9aa6323 52a58bb16108814ce7e4f8c1486bc36e

9d920e6138dcc68e69754f30fe7ded23-1What do you think? And ideas where I can get a cool W, preferably one that looks like it was wrenched off of a gate at some old estate and then left in a barn till it developed “character”?

*All images via my Pinterest page, where you can connect to the original images.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 18 Comments

When you really love someone, you have to take up the causes they think are important…

… which means I will be cheering alongside my Hoosier husband for Indiana University during March Madness.

Kentucky had our year last year and it was awesome and James donned his UK blue to join me in cheering… but this year he made the valid point that I could no longer root for them since they didn’t even make it in the tournament. Ouch.

Basketball had been on pretty much the whole weekend around this house. The plus side is that it distracts James from how my housekeeping crumbled over spring break. Plus, it offers me the entertainment of things like the following sequence of images, taken during the last several minutes of today’s IU-Temple game. marchmadness

Did you all fill out brackets? Who do you have going all the way?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 18 Comments

This too, takes Almighty grace.

Anyone else need to hear these words today?oswald

I read them couple weeks ago in My Utmost for His Highest and I haven’t stopped mulling them over. They are along the same lines of what I shared about drudgery a couple weeks back. Sometimes it just seems like it would be easier to do something “great” for God, rather than do dishes or fold laundry or finish writing my thesis or start studying for comp exams.  Because you know what my spring break has looked like this week, with almost no exceptions?DSC_4506

But maybe this too, takes Almighty grace. Not so much to do it, as that just takes perseverance. But to do it purposefully, to do it gladly — to understand it as part of my daily calling of following God… that takes Almighty grace. DSC_4515

What are you needing a little visionless, spectator-less, unenthusiastic grace for today?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 19 Comments

That time I went to the jcrew warehouse and wanted to cry.

So I’m sure you have all been dying to hear about the JCREW ADVENTURE. Right? Ok, probably not really, but I’m stil so excited about it that I am going to share anyways.

First, I need to say that I have always considered myself a pretty good shopper, even under crazy conditions (Cincinnati Gap Clearance Store anyone?????). I can sift through unorganized piles of clothes, go for a long time, seek out bargains, the whole deal. Remember les soldes? I thought that was as wild as it would get.

And yet.

Nothing prepared me for the madness that was the jcrew warehouse event.

We left at 4 am on Saturday morning. This is pretty early…. or late, as I had that awesome girls’ night the night before and then I was so anxious/excited about getting up early that I DIDN’T SLEEP AT ALL. Someday I will write a blog post all about what it’s like being a crazy who takes out any form of anxiety/life change/ excitement/ stress/ insert reason here by not sleeping. Poor James.

vscocam592

Our two-car caravan headed to Lynchburg ready to shop. We rolled in to a McDonald’s about 7:30 for a quick breakfast and then were waiting in line to get in to the massive warehouse by 7:45. By this point, there were approximately 100 people in front of us, which means that there are a lot of sleep-deprived crazies about to get their shopping on.At 8:00, they let us in. And that’s the last ordered thing that happened.vscocam602

As we went in, we were handed a giant trashbag (think, summer camp dumpster bun size) and a set price list. Then people just kind of went wild. For the first 30 minutes, I think everyone forgot that there was a whole warehouse of clothes, so we were just grabbing things wildly and throwing them in our bags. Handful of belts? MUST HAVE. Size 2 pink jeans? MAYBE IF I SUCK IN. Men’s fedora? OF COURSE.

vscocam597

I want to describe the shopping process, because none of these pictures do justice to the total insanity that it was. You are in a huge factory warehouse floor full of tables covered in boxes. While there are some *general* delineations (shoes, tops, men’s, women’s, kids) there is no further breakdown. A box could have a wedding dress, 2 winter coats, 6 tank tops, and some skinny jeans, of all different sizes. This means that you just randomly riffle through hundreds of boxes, hoping you find something. Oh, and there are no dressing rooms. Instead, everybody wears the minimum clothes possible – leggings, work out tops, etc. – and you just yank things on overtop. For the first hour, I kind of just wandered lost, fantasizing about making snow angels in the discarded clothing on the floor and crying, because it was just so overwhelming. You realize that all those things that look so pristine and lovely in the store, just merge into a wrinkled mess on the warehouse tables. You are also aware of how many truly ugly things jcrew is tricking us into loving. I offer the following as proof:

badfashion

But slowly I got the hang of it, largely because our gang was a pretty rocking team. Yes, we all forced Brooke to try on everything in tiny sizes and even forcing her into children’s clothes, but we also worked together pretty well, finding things for each other and offering top-notch fashion advice like “Don’t buy that. It’s shapeless and awful.”

vscocam598

I didn’t find a bridesmaid dress because some family got in first and swept ALL OF THE PALE PINK DRESSES for their daughter’s wedding before anyone else could get in. But I still managed to come out with 2 formal-ish dresses, an orange Origami Sheath dress, a black one two, a black lace Madewell dress, black sequined dress (totally practical), grey cotton sundress, dress shirt for James, 2 dress shirts for me, one fancy tank top, one t-shirt, colored bangle, amazing scarf, and two pairs of tights. Original estimated price for all that: $1,607.50.  I paid: $162.  WINNING.

And then I came home and went to bed by 8:30 and slept for 13 hours. WINNING.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 22 Comments

Blessed.

Sometimes I can’t believe how blessed we are with our friends in DC.

We have met some great people in this city, gotten to know some awesome people at work or church, been surprised by roommates we love, or met friends of friends that we are so excited to have in our lives.

But what really makes me cry happy tears if I think about it too much is the divine serendipity that has kept friends from childhood or college in our lives as we moved out here. We live in a world where people constantly have friends for a moment, or a season, but I am so blessed that some of those seasons just keep expanding.

Christineandme

One such friend is this lovely lady, Christine. We met on our very first day of college orientation and stayed close throughout college, bonding over our mutual hatred of winter, many trips to Wal-Mart, and a shared love of good clothes and food. Our social lives went different ways halfway through college, but our senior year we decided that to stay close we needed to be intentional about time spent together and so we started cooking dinner together every Wednesday. After college, Christine moved to DC and I to France, and we very likely could have drifted apart. Instead, I started visiting James in DC and staying with her. When I moved to DC, we decided to restart our weekly meals and Thursday breakfast dates were born. I can’t even begin to express how dear these times are.

A lot has happened in the past two years. There’s been a lot of laughter, lots of tears, lots of hard talks, but silly ones too. And in May, there is going to be a wedding of this lovely lady and her amazing man! More pictures of that to come later this spring.

On Friday night, a group of us went out to celebrate Christine and her upcoming wedding. It was the perfect low-key evening of good food at Hank’s Oyster Bar, followed by more good food back at Christine’s house.  Here are a couple shots from the evening.ain'tlovesweet

In case you were wondering, that amazing cake with the raspberries on it is sugar free, flour free, and otherwise paleo. Oh and it tastes like MAGIC rather than sawdust. The recipe was provided by Christine’s amazing cook nutritionist sister (check out all the recipes on her blog!) and you can find it here, with the frosting here. The strawberry cake was this one that I can’t get enough of and the coconut peanut butter cookies are here. That awesome fruit tart was handmade by the fine people of Trader Joe’s.

May you all be blessed with good friends. They are the greatest blessing. And may you spend lots of time with them eating good food. Because that is the best way to enjoy the greatest blessing.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Right now I’m loving….jcrew.

Ok, so really that’s a lie: I always love jcrew, even though their most recent catalogue was a super let-down. It wasn’t that there wasn’t cute stuff, it was that they combined it all in truly horrendous ways on angry weird-eyed models, as if trying to prove that you can spend a lot on clothes or be a model and still look truly awful. Plus, they have been pushing some really stupid and ugly things lately, like this crazily expensive shirt covered in SKUNKS. Oh, and there is a matching skirt. Because why not just let the bad ideas continue to come.

But on the whole, jcrew is one of those brands that I usually love. Unfortunately, it is also one of those brands that I can very rarely afford, unless I hit a great sale or factory deal.

Or unless I get up at 4am Saturday morning to drive 4 hours and wait in line for the warehouse sample sale event, where the usually super pricey tops and bottoms go for under 20$. Yes. You read that correctly. James likes to make fun of how late I sleep in every morning (yay grad school!) and has taken to reminding me of the Proverbs 31 women who gets up before the dawn to bring glory to her husband by spinning flax into clothes or whatever. Well on Saturday, I shall be said women of the modern day, rising early to bring home stylish clothes for a steal.

Now, because there are no dressing rooms at the warehouse and it is kind of intense, I decided it would be an awesome use of my time to explore the website and make a wish-list. Will they actually happen to have all these things in my sizes? Most likely not. But a girl can dream.jcrew2

1. Ponte Swing Dress/ 2. Stretch perfect shirt / 3. Pencil skirt / 4. Printed Paisley Scarf / 5. Translucent stone necklace / 6.  Classic medium bangle / 7. Janey patent flats / 8. Painter-elbow boatneck tee / 9. Linen city mini / 10. Origami Dress

Another one of the reasons for going, is to find a bridesmaid’s dress for James’ sister’s wedding this summer. She is being one of those cool chill brides that is letting us pick our own dress so long as it is pale pink, and I have my eye on something like this, which is to say pretty much any one of their silk chiffon bridesmaid’s dresses. They usually go for 250$, but at the warehouse, they run around 20$. WIN. bridesmaiddressesAre you a jcrew fan? What spring styles are you excited about this season, from there or elsewhere?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 24 Comments

When The Relatives Came

One of the most fun things about being an adult is becoming friends with your parents as something closer to peers. I was always close with my parents, but every year it seems like we are more and more on equal ground in this whole friendship thing.

Last weekend they were passing through DC so I took [another] weekend off from school work to spend some time with them. We showed them the best that DC weekends have to offer, which is to say we had friends over and gorged ourselves on waffles and then went on a very long sunny walk. Please note that awesome chalkboard sign my mom wrote, complete with the trendy misspelling that people do these days.

waffles

waffles2Despite the “snowstorm” on Wednesday, it was absolutely glorious on Saturday. We did the slow wander through Eastern Market, the long walk over Capitol Hill and down Pennslyvania Avenue, past the White House (but no tour, of course) finishing our long walk with eating way more than we should have eaten at Founding Farmers.  Finally we dragged our tired selves home where my mom proceeded to thrash us all at card games after pretending not to understand the rules for a couple hands. home^^Pretty pleased to have such dignified guests…and I kept my shades on in that first shot because without them, my de-facto hair these days makes me look like I’m five, as evidenced by the second shot. Whatever. It’s so easy.^^
dcwalkBut the best part of the weekend, the part that I will continue to mull over in my heart and let it seep out to warm my soul, was so many moments like the one in that first picture, moments where I turned around while walking, or peeked out of the kitchen and saw my husband and my father deep in conversation. Nothing makes me happier than watching the man I have loved the longest become close friends with the man I plan on loving for forever.Parents' visit_19Did you enjoy a sunny Saturday last weekend?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Why I love DC: Capitol Hill Books

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a person of a certain book love must be in want of more books.

It is another truth that sometimes two of the aforementioned people will marry each other and have to buy a new bookshelf every six months to keep up with their addictions.

That’s us. Boy, do we love bookstores [see not at bottom about bookstores, all ye scoffers].  James and I used to go on dates where we would just chill out in bookstores while each perused our own guilty book pleasure: survival books or new history narratives (James), or anything having to do with the Romanov family and Anastasia conspiracies (me).

There are the nice bookstores — the fancy ones, the ones that have Starbucks coffee shops inside, plush chairs, and shiny new books. And then there are the used bookstores, the ones that exude personality and attract book hoarders and lovers alike.

Among this second type is Capitol Hill Bookseasternmarket_11easternmarket_12easternmarket_14easternmarket_15

What it is: Super quirky used bookstore in Eastern Market known for its cramped conditions, awesome collections, eccentric owner and hysterical signs.

Where it is:  657 C Street SE

Why you should be excited: If you are claustrophobic, you probably shouldn’t be excited.  But if you grew up getting goose bumps at this scene from Beauty and the Beast (go ahead and watch it… though I should give the disclaimer that Capitol Hill books is much less spacious.), then you will probably love being tucked away in the stacks of books and finding treasures. Plus, the no-frills signage (ie, Sharpie and index cards) and the posters that forbid, cell phones, back packs, etc. are a nice relief from fancy book stores. In this store, you are constantly reminded of your utter inferiority when compared to books.  You are not smarter than them, you are not above them, and they do not need you. Nothing like being put in your place by a bunch on inanimate objects. easternmarket_10

Any other bookstores you love in DC? Please share!

Note: If you think that we don’t need bookstores anymore because we can just download things, I suggest you read this article and watch this video (or watch it here with French subtitles and better resolution… if you are in the Cool Club.)

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 12 Comments

This is how adults have snow days.*

1. The evening before, decide that the snow day will happen. Ignore all the proof against it (like it being, you know, MARCH) or the lack of precedent (because grad school doesn’t really have snow days) and prove your belief by refusing to pack lunch or gym bag.

2. During the night, make sure to get up at least four times and check to see if it snowed. Upon sight of NO SNOW go back to bed and angrily toss and turn, waking up Husband and letting him know that you are Displeased With The Weather for promising a SNOWQUESTER and then failing to deliver.

3. When Husband taps your shoulder at 6:30 am to let you know that the Federal Government declared a snow day, bound to the computer, check, then stumble gleefully back to bed despite the fact that there is NO SNOW ON THE GROUND.

4. Reawaken at 8 to nice fat snowflakes. Husband decides to go to the office anyway, because despite what everybody thinks, Congress is actually trying to get things done.  (And then it turned out to be a crazy filibuster day! Am I the only person who gets super fascinated by filibusters and spent wayyyyyy too long freaking out about how Rand Paul ever went to the bathroom????) Consider walking Husband to work and taking pretty pictures of fat snowflakes falling on the city and then returning to make tasty Snow Day Breakfast of waffles… but decide instead to watch The Bachelor: The Women Tell All while eating cereal, the healthy kind.

5.  Feel convicted of laziness and use the aforementioned trashy TV to fold laundry and finally respond to growing pile of email.

6. Debate going for a run, since it actually isn’t really snowing at all. Verdict remains out out on run for some time.

7. Realize that this snow day is actually a divine gift/mandate to start writing mid-term paper that is due soon and read Madame Bovary.

teasnowday

8. Consider building fort. Decide to read Madame Bovary in fort. Get so depressed by remembering how Madame Bovary ends that all fort plans are called off.

9. Work on mid-term paper while drinking so much tea that you pee like a pregnant woman.

10. Take long break to Google Tibetan Mastiff Dogs, which are like domesticated bears. Google Cavapoos too. Consider buying one before Husband gets home.

11. Decide to show winter what is what by making this ridiculously good strawberry summer cake. Take that no-snow-snow day.

strawberry pie

12. Finish mid-term paper draft one, but decide on a definitive no about running. Flop around on the floor for awhile pretending to do “ab work” but it’s just a charade.

13. Finally change out of robe, but remain bare faced and bed-headed when Husband and Friend come over for dinner. Enjoy delicious dinner (which had to make up from the Pinterest-provoked monstrosity that [dis]graced our table Monday night, followed by the Chinese take-out that happened Tuesday night) in a cozy apartment and decide that snow day awesomeness is pretty much a universal thing, transcending all ages.

dinner

(*At least, the childless graduate student adults… does that still count?)

So tell me, did you have a snow day on Wednesday, and was there actually snow? How did you spend it?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 23 Comments