Seven Layer Bars

Are we far enough into 2013 by now that we can all stop pretending to still be keeping those healthy eating resolutions? (See note at bottom.)

Ok good. Now here are some cookies that will taste so much better than whatever healthy cookie made out of flax seed, carrot, mashed bananas, and carob chips you are pretending that you are enjoying eating.

seven layer bars_13 Everyone should have a signature dessert, one that they whip out and bring to everything. During college, this was mine. A friend sent me a care package my freshman year that had something similar to them in it and my roommate and I went a little crazy replicating it. Because we were cooking in a kitchen that was the size of a cardboard box, finding a one dish dessert was a high priority. You can assemble then in the pan that you cook them in using no special tool other than a microwave. Donna and I used to throw them together in under 10 minutes and then cart the pan around to whatever oven we could find. Then, the finished product was carted off to whatever social function was next. I’m pretty sure I made at least a hundred batches of these over my four years at Hillsdale.

seven layer bars_1They are kind of like the bar form of Samoas, which might be the single most addictive item ever created. I could eat at least a full box before I even started getting tired of them. Same goes for these bars, though I would probably go into chocolate coma before my brain told me to stop.

sevenlayerbarschipsThey aren’t gluten free, sugar free, low calorie, low carb, or good for you in any other way.

But sometimes… don’t you just get tired of trying to force dessert into a category that it was never meant to indwell, namely GOOD FOR YOU?  I promise to try to post a recipe about kale chips or something sometime soon. Actually, that’s a lie. I love kale, but I just can’t get on board with dried, sad, crunchy kale.

So sometime soon, when you are going somewhere where other people can prevent you from eating the whole pan by yourself, make some of these and take them with you. Be unapologetically indulgent in the name of good cookies, community, and shared calories.

seven layer bars_12Seven Layer Bars

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1/2 box graham crackers, crushed. My favorite method is to put them in a  secure ziplock back and — wearing clean socks — step on them. Awesome crumbs in minutes.
  • 1 bag chocolate chips
  • 1/2 back butterscotch chips
  • 1/2 bag white chocolate chips
  • 1 bag sweetened coconut flakes (or slightly less than one bag… sometimes I get carried away with coconut)
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Melt butter and pour into 9×13 inch pan. Press crumbs into the butter.
  3. Layer the following: 1/2 bag chocolate chips, white chips, a couple handfuls coconut, butterscotch chips, other half chocolate chips, rest of coconut. Reserve a couple chips of each type aside.sevenlayersteps
  4. Pour sweetened condensed milk over coconut and sprinkle with chips.
  5. Bake 20-25 minutes or until coconut is turning golden brown on edges.
  6. Remove and let cool COMPLETELY. Don’t ignore that. I try to make them the day before or the morning before something. However, do run a knife around the edges to loosen the coconut from the sides or cleaning will be miserable.

seven layer bars_11Ps: About those Resolutions… I am pleased to announce that I have attended spinning classes twice a week since the semester started. Which has only been three weeks. And Friday I got there too late for a bike, so I just sat on a mat and did the abs section… but I’m still counting it.  I still haven’t started Brothers K, only painted my nails once, am currently wearing socks with holes, and back-burnerd 30 Rock because I got sucked in to 24 (12 years after the rest of you) and I might actually die if Jack Bauer doesn’t save everybody soon. So I guess I am a resolution failure. Guess I’ll go drown my sorrows in cookies.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | 23 Comments

Around this home… there are plants that I kill.

DSC_4241“Why can’t I keep anything alive?”

“Listen, I love you, but you’re a plant killer. It’s what you do. It’s a good thing our children won’t need to photosynthesize.”

“But  photosynthesize! Think of how much sun I have to have to make enough chlorophyll!”

“Do you have leaves? No.”DSC_4243

James walks in the kitchen and finds me licking dried soup out of a pot.

“I think we need more pictures of what we really look like, or our kids will think we were actually cool all the time. “

“What is that supposed to mean?”

Pointed look from husband to my ratty flannel pants, slippers, and soup covered face. But seriously, food is so much better out of the pan it was cooked in. We can’t stop eating this pumpkin gooey cake straight from the pan…preferably in bed. house4

” I think our fridge is really…taking shape. But when does our house stop being a shrine to our wedding photos?

“When I get tired of them.”

“When will that be?”

“Probably never.”house5

And a couple special words of wisdom from this past weekend from James:

“You know what you never see anyone doing on The Bachelor? READING A BOOK.”

“Sometimes marriage is less fun than a tree fort.”

^^The final phrase of his accusation that I am secretly stealing his pillow and changing it out for a different one each evening while he is taking off his glasses. Really he’s just mad that I am refusing to let him sleep with all the shams. I guess in his tree fort days he could sleep with any pillow he wanted. ^^

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Why I love DC: The Sweet Lobby

In my  macaron experience, there are a couple moments that stand above all the rest:

  • That time that we WON the Macaronathon, even though the rest of Paris didn’t even know it was a competition.
  • Whenever I would introduce a visitor to the perfection that was a Ladurée macaron, usually consumed somewhere exceedingly lovely.
  • That time my brothers and I FAILED at making macarons and had to eat all the ganache with pretzels.
  • And finally, the time I finally found macarons stateside that hold a candle to France… and they happened to be three blocks from my home.

It’s not that Americans don’t love macarons – they do. But only because they are pretty. The subtlety of a macaron (and the fact that it only has one “o” – the two “o” one is the coconut cookie) eludes American chefs. I buy them whenever I see them and usually end up disappointed as they are nothing but fudge sandwiched between bland meringue cookies. Whereas eating a macaron from Ladurée meant eating a perfect incaranation of whatever the flavor said it was (rose, lavender, salted caramel…), eating a macaron from various specialty stores here just made me wish that I had opted for chocolate chip.

But then my birthday came, and a friend brought me a box of macarons from The Sweet Lobby. Glory.

sweetlobby sweetlobby1

I’ve typed and deleted this confession several times, but I’m just going to admit it here: they are every bit as good … and potentially better… than lots of the French ones I had.

sweetlobby4

What it is: Tiny sweet shop on Barracks Row selling perfect French confections like macarons, madeleines, and canelés, as well as cupcakes… AND CUPCAKES WITH MACARONS ON THEM.

Where it is: 404 8th Street SE (see- eastern DC really is awesome!!)

Why you should be excited: Um…. Have you seen how pretty those cookies are? And DID YOU SEE THERE WAS EDIBLE GLITTER ON ONE? And if I told you they had flavors like balsamic-fig, salted caramel hazelnut, and orange ginger – would you drop everything and come RIGHT NOW? Because you should. I can meet you there.

sweetlobby3

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 11 Comments

I teach French.

I will never cure cancer. I will never be the first female president. I will not argue essential court cases or invent a new car. I won’t make enough money to have multiple houses or get involved in inside trader scandals. If I ever write a book, very few people will be interested enough to read it.

I teach French.

I’m ok that most people don’t really see a point in learning French, and many see language education as a special class akin to PE or art. They’re wrong, but I get it. Why would people want to learn a language that only comprises one of the most essential languages of international commerce and trade, birthed a whole lot of the western cannon of literature, theory, philosophy, and art, and is spoken on every single continent? I get it.

But you know what? I love what I do. I love the books that I read, and even though I hate taking tests, I love that I am pursuing degrees that will help me teach MORE FRENCH to MORE PEOPLE. Because what more wonderful task is there than equipping students to see a different world by giving them access to a different language?

And you know what else? I get to love what I do. Especially when I taught high school, but even still with college, I get to go in to a room of sleepy students and BLOW THEIR MINDS with knowledge, or at least overwhelm them with how much they don’t know. And it’s awesome, because they only understand about 63% of what I say so I can kind of have a party up there in the front by myself.  Sometimes they try to respond, and their French is so crippled that they make horrible mistakes and accidentally say wildly inappropriate things that entertain me the rest of the day.

Sometimes, I even traumatize them with learning songs like this one that I recorded with a colleague during our office hours, just so it could live on forever. And sometimes I smash their souls with depressing French poems because, you know, sometimes life is really awful and they need to know about it, and no one does “life is awful” with more class than those French.

Sometimes though, they do get it, and I see them get it, and they realize… wait a minute, there’s more to life than me, more to the world than America. And then their own world opens up a little more, their souls open up a little more.

So yeah, I teach French. And a lot of people don’t think it matters, but it does to me.

tumblr_m73dnspgeW1qd6fqro1_500

*images from here and here.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 12 Comments

La Chandeleur: making crêpes and eating halos

chandeleurskilletThere are so many reasons that I love the French. I love their eternal revolutionary spirit that makes them refuse to play along by anyone’s rules other than their own. I love their preference of beauty over practicality, leisure over work, quality over quantity.

But I especially love their ability to turn anything into an excuse to eat awesome food.

Saturday was La Chandeleur, Candlemas. The French celebrate La Chandeleur by eating crêpes, but I actually had no clue why. Even the text book I teach from, when it came time to go over holidays, glossed over the purpose and got straight to the eating of crêpes.  This past week one of my French colleagues finally explained why we eat crêpes on La Chandeleur. It marks the day that the baby Jesus was presented at the temple. Yes…. but how do we get from the baby Jesus, to crêpes bursting with Nutella? Well, in the old paintings of this presentation (like this one by Giotto), there is always a perfect circular halo around Jesus’ head.  And then one day, it occurred to someone that that halo sure looks a lot like a crêpe. Thus a tradition was born.

Did you catch that? The French have a whole holiday where they all eat holy halos. How can you not love them for that?

makingcrêpesAfter a year of making the traditional Tuesday night crêpes for the girls I nannied when I lived in Paris, I like to fancy myself quite the crêpe maker. But this was a little different, because according to the tradition, you have to toss the crêpe in one hand, while holding a coin in the hand you usually write with. Not so easy. We had friends over for the event, and things quickly descended into wild crêpe flinging.
makingcrêpes1And what do Americans celebrate on Feb. 2nd? Groundhog day. No crêpes, no halos, no religious significance. Just a stupid animal to whom we attribute entirely unfounded wisdom. Supposedly Phil didn’t see his shadow on Saturday, but the snow falling yesterday didn’t convince me that spring is coming early. Regardless of how many more weeks of winter there are, grab the crêpe recipe below and make you some yummy halos.
makingcrêpes2Basic Crêpes 

This is really just a ratio, so the amount below will make about 5 crêpes… multiply as you will!

  • 1 cup flour
  • pinch salt
  • teaspoon oil (not olive — vegetable or sunflower)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  1. Combine all of the above and mix well. If the mixture is thick, add more milk to thin it out.
  2. Heat crêpe skillets until they are hot and wipe them with  paper towel dipped in oil. You may only need to wipe them every couple crêpes. I have crêpe skillets from Williams Sonoma, Bed, Bath, and Beyond, and Crate and Barrell. The WS is by far the most expensive… and my least favorite. They other two are both cheaper, lighter, make better crêpes, and are easier to clean.
  3. Ladle in enough batter so that when you roll the skillet around, in thinly and evenly cots the bottom and up the sides a little.
  4. Let cook until sides pull away slightly then loosen edges with a knife or a cool wooden crêpe tool like the one at the top of the post.
  5. Use a spatula, or be brave and toss the crêpe to cook the other side. Cook just a minute or so, then slide to a plate.
  6. For sweet ones, you can assemble them off the heat. For savory ones, sprinkle cheese and toppings on the crêpe after it has been flipped, fold over like an omelet, and cook.

Some of my favorite crêpe combos:

  • Ham and swiss with an over easy egg eaten on top
  • Bacon, goat cheese, and honey. Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it.
  • Nutella, bananas, whip cream. Classic.

chandeleur_15Ps: No post about halos this weekend would be complete without a reference to the highlight of last night’s Super Bowl, which was of course when Beyoncé finished her set with “Halo,” and shortly thereafter I’m pretty sure she left the game and took ALL THE LIGHT WITH HER. This is my explanation for the power outage and I kept on chanting “BRING BACK BEYONCE AND WE CAN PLAY IN HER HALO!!!” Because she is glorious. I might have originally tried to convince James to do a Beyoncé themed wedding so that “Halo” could be our first dance, in which case I would have had to rip off my dress and break it down in a leotard, Queen B style. If it’s been awhile since you have watched the music video, start your Monday off right and watch it NOW right here. Please appreciate that moment where her male counterpart tries to dance and all he can do is the step, shoulder dip, snap deal. So we all appear when faced with Beyoncé’s moves.  I might have tried her speed squat/hip swivel this morning and I’m pretty sure I pulled something.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 7 Comments

Love and Ice Cream.

Once upon I time I lived in Paris and James came to visit. In the ten preceding months, I had only seen him for one brief week at Christmas. That visit was the first time I told him I loved him, and the whole visit seems colored by that declaration. We wandered along the banks of the Seine, strolled through the Luxembourg gardens, and picnicked on the roof of my building.

That visit also gave the first shadowing that life isn’t easy, even when you’re in love. The day after James got to Paris, we found out he no longer had a job in DC when he got back.

But despite this, you can’t waste a week in love in Paris. That week felt like being back in the beginning of love, as we were finally saying those words out-loud. When you first say them, they are terrifying. Terrifying because of the enormity of what they mean, and also terrifying because some part of me felt that if I said them too often, they would lose value. But love is one of the few things that increases in quality as it does quantity. Saying it only makes it grow with each utterance.

After so long apart, it was also terrifying because there is always that nagging doubt that something might have changed. And of course, things do change, to pretend otherwise is to  feed a dangerous misconception. But throughout that week, there were so many little moments that confirmed that I loved that man, however terrifying and uncertain everything else was.

One night we were walking  to dinner when James grabbed my arm and stopped me.

“Let’s get ice cream.”

“What, ice cream before dinner? We can’t have ice cream before dinner!”

“But we might not have room after dinner!”

Just another moment when I knew I loved him, especially with that dessert logic.jamesvisit_58

These first months of marriage have showed me that that was not a unique instance. This husband of mine always wants ice cream. A couple weeks ago for our six-month anniversary, we celebrated by eating at home and then walking to Good Stuff for shakes. Oh, and it was about 20 degrees, so shakes made total sense to us and our dessert logic.goodstuffanniversary

Love and ice cream, two of the very best things.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

Unless the child in you is entirely dead…

Last night I was convinced that today would be a snow day. I am fully aware that this belief was not founded on anything logical. It didn’t snow yesterday, it wasn’t supposed to snow much last night, and I teach at a university, so you don’t really get snow days to begin with.

But snow day hope is a hard thing to kill.

So instead of packing my lunch, laying out my clothes, and going to bed at a decent hour… I stayed up watching TV till 2 am. 2 AM. I blame it on James being out of town and taking all sense of reason with him.  To top it all off, I made the mistake of staying up to finish a season of Revenge, which meant I was then wayyyyyy too scared/angry/emotionally keyed up to fall asleep.

And then that alarm went off this morning. No snow day. Reality hit like a day you thought there would be a snow day and then there wasn’t.snowflake2

But then again… there was still some snow this morning, and who can be truly upset when they look outside and see it frosted in white?Snowflake3

“You wake up on a winter morning and pull up the shade, and what lay there the evening before is no longer there–the sodden gray yard, the dog droppings, the tire tracks in the frozen mud, the broken lawn chair you forgot to take in last fall. All this has disappeared overnight, and what you look out on is not the snow of Narnia but the snow of home, which is no less shimmering and white as it falls. The earth is covered with it, and it is falling still in silence so deep that you can hear its silence. It is snow to be shoveled, to make driving even worse than usual, snow to be joked about and cursed at, but unless the child in you is entirely dead, it is snow, too, that can make the heart beat faster when it catches you by surprise that way, before your defenses are up. It is snow that can awaken memories of things more wonderful than anything you ever knew or dreamed.” — Frederick Buechner, Telling the Truth: The Gospel as Tragedy, Comedy, and Fairy Talesnowwonder

If it’s been awhile, go find a single snowflake and look at it. Unless the child in you is entirely dead, you will wonder. Wonder is the very best response when faced with individual snowflakes.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Why I love DC: Batter Bowl Bakery

It seems like most people are a little ashamed to love DC. Politicians bash it, as affiliation with this city is seen as weakness, or being disconnected from the nation. The country views it as a place outside of reality, oblivious to concerns faced by the rest of the states. These things might be true, but it is also a city where lots of people go about their daily lives.

And I love it.

I feel like DC is the best kept secret of the big cities. Everyone gets excited about New York, Chicago, or LA. People only remember DC when they are planning educational trips for their eight graders or considering an internship. But DC is so much more than that, and has so much to recommend itself as a city.

Which is why I’ve decided to periodically share things that I love about this city. Places, restaurants, museums, parks, scenes, and activities – all the little things that have slowly won me over from my initial hatred of this city.

Today I wanted to share the Batter Bowl Bakery, which just opened a couple weeks ago on H Street NE (yes, there are cool things on the eastern side of this city, and no, you won’t die if you go there).batterbowlbakery

What it is: Tiny European style bakery with just enough American, meaning they serve huge breakfast sandwiches and give polite service.

Where it is: 403 H Street NE.

Why you should be excited: There are croissants are so flaky that I wanted to cry and there is  a NUTELLA TOWER, welcoming you like a beacon of chocolate.

If you are a fan of DC, feel free to share some of your favorite places below! If you aren’t a fan, come visit and I will convince you.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 11 Comments

We weren’t made to starve in fig trees.

Remember how I’m a commitaphobe?

Well this semester has been especially painful for my indecisive self because this is the last semester of my MA which means… picking a thesis topic. Even though I selected the extra class/ shorter thesis option, it still means picking a topic to invest in all semester. Finding topics is not my problem. I have in fact found at least four that intrigue me. But picking just one… I can’t do it. I love them all. How can I say goodbye to Proust? Or give up the chance to spend all semester with Camus? Or relinquish the work I have already put into animals in Colette?

These are the anguishing everyday decisions of academia.(FIRST WORLD PROBLEM.) I am fully aware that they are not decisions that actually affect anything beyond my desk, but they are still ones I have to make.

Last week I went to talk with my committee members, hoping they could help me muddle through my decision. Of course, they too are academics because they couldn’t handle the thought of ceasing to learn, so it didn’t really provide a clear answer. This whole process ended with me in one of their offices babbling about Sylvia Plath’s fig tree.

What – you haven’t been flipping through depressing modern lit lately? I finally read the Bell Jar a couple years ago and I think it will be one of those books that has marked me, that will stay with me throughout the years. That doesn’t mean I liked it, but I resonated with it. The part that I rethink so often is the scene where the narrarator depicts the crippling reality of freedom and unlimited options:

“I saw my life branching out before me like the green fig tree in the story.  From the tip of every branch, like a fat purple fig, a wonderful future beckoned and winked.  One fig was a husband and a happy home and children, and another fig was a famous poet and another fig was a brilliant professor, and another fig was Ee Gee, the amazing editor, and another fig was Europe and Africa and South America, and another fig was Constantin and Socrates and Attila and a pack of other lovers with queer names and offbeat professions, and another fig was an Olympic lady crew champion, and beyond and above these figs were many more figs I couldn’t quite make out.  I saw myself sitting in the crotch of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn’t make up my mind which of the figs I would choose.  I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and, one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet.” ~Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar, Chapter 7

Dramatic, I know, but doesn’t it sometimes feel like that? Wouldn’t we sometimes rather starve to death in the fig tree than choose something and be happy with it? Yes, Sylvia is writing about a feminine reality that isn’t totally true anymore. We can have a career and a family, we can choose two figs. But two still isn’t all of them. There are figs that will fall around us as we choose starvation.

figcrop

The professor who had to listen to my fig frustration advised me to just go home and start writing a description of each potential thesis, claiming that the one I wanted most would just reveal itself. She was right. I now have a topic, one that I am choosing to stick with, despite how temptingly figgy some of those other topics still look.

Today I opened the mail to find an article* from my mother about this very issue. It hit home with me so I just wanted to end this reflection on the hunger in fig trees with these words from Barry Cooper:

We worship the god of open options. And he is killing us. He kills our relationships, because he tells us it’s better not to become too involved. He kills our service to others because he tells us it might be better to keep our weekends to ourselves. He kills our giving because he tells us these are uncertain financial times and you never know when you might need that money. He kills our joy in Christ because he tells us it’s better not to be thought of as too spiritual….The living God, the loving, triune God, did not create us to keep our options open. He didn’t create us to live in fear of making a choice….The god of open options is a cruel and vindictive god. He will break your heart. He will not let anyone get too close. But at the same time, because he is so spiteful, he will not let anyone get too far away because that would mean they are no longer an option. On and on it continues, exhausting and frustrating and confusing and endless, pulling towards and then pushing away, like the tide on a beach, never finally committing one way or the other….The god of open options is also a liar. He promises you that by keeping your options open, you can have everything and everyone. But in the end, you get nothing and no one….Choose the God of infinite possibility who chose to limit himself to a particular time, a particular place, and a particular people.

Pick a fig. Be happy with it. We were made for eating figs, not starving in fig trees.photo-16

*Read the full article here.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Face-plant Monday.

Hi all, it’s Monday. Woke up to a bunch of ice and UMD has a delay… that ends just in time for the one class I have to teach so out into the cold I go. But I kind of feel like doing this:belle and sebastianEmmieRose_0008

f7fd84a7c29e8472bbf39cd755a9e9c2a4bbdd56_l

The Monday morning face-plant.  Anyone else thinking WHERE DID THAT WEEKEND GO AND WHY DO WE HAVE TO WAIT FOREVER TO GET ANOTHER ONE? If that is your response, I have a special pep talk for you to watch… because you all are gooder than that.

Start your Monday with that dance. I guarantee that it will put you in a less face-planty mood…or at least cheer up everyone around you, should you decide to experiment with it in the work place.

Go be awesome.

*Pictures: Sebastian the Foster Kitty, Emmie Rose, cat from here.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 16 Comments