Just a guy talking about The Bachelor.

Confession: I often get sucked in to watching The Bachelor.

Before the judgement starts falling, let me say that I realize it is a total pageant of lies and drama, but there is something so impossibly fascinating about the falsehood of it all. And I also have to admit, after Ashley and JP, there is maybe a tiny part of me that roots for them to actually find love. Plus, it is as one blogger put it, “our version of the Hunger Games.” This season has been, in my opinion, a little slow. It’s not the producers’ fault that Sean is just too nice to be super entertaining ( I mean, did you see the episode where his idea of a date was volunteering to surprise children who suffer from chronic illness??). Given his lack of pizazz, they are resorting to having him take of his shirt with Jacob-like frequency.

But last week I got talking with one of my guy friends, who is experimenting with watching it this season. He’s letting me share his thoughts today, but only as long as I don’t give his name.(James wants you to all know that it’s not him… he hates The Bachelor  so much that he says he’d be open about it.)  Does this mean he’s ashamed of watching The Bachelor? Most likely.

“I fought competitively for six years, and even won an international tournament with 6,000 competitors. I’ve made a living working on cars. I shoot guns and go camping. I went to Bible college and I know where a chair is in every store of the Mall. I recently started watching The Bachelor on Monday nights.

For those, like me, who had or have not ever seen the show, it is about a couple finding marriage at the end of a 25 girl dating spree. At the end of episodes he gives roses to the girls he likes and those who don’t make the cut go home. Supposedly this show has been on TV for a long time.

The reason to watch the show is to see if the Bachelor will make the choices you think he should make. It is intriguing to evaluate the interactions and see if he is making the right choice. Remember this, because I’m about to explain everything that is wrong with the show, or as much as I have the stomach to type out without being redundant.

Where to start? . . .

This show goes against almost everything that I believe about love and romance. I caught myself thinking in terms of, “if she wins,” and that’s bull because it’s as though no one is questioning whether he is a prize or not. You may be thinking, “they both win if they get married!” Well, who wants a marriage forged in such a way?

Picture them, 20 years from now, laughing about that time she met him and he was so unsure about her that he dated 24 other girls. They will surely own their season on DVD and be able to see him fondling those other girls and throwing around the word love. “Look kids, that’s your dad picking your mom out.” “And that is Mommy making out with daddy even though he was a stranger because she wanted to leave a lasting impression.”

In this show, the women are vying for his attention and to gain his relationship. They see themselves as desirable and they are willing compete to prove it. If I do this or say this he will have to take notice. If she dresses correctly he will undoubtedly choose her. From the start what is desirable within that person is buried under make-up and her attempt to stand out. The potential finalists on the show say they want to “be themselves” but how can they? Who sets the world record for longest on-screen kiss on their first date? (See, I did watch, as awkward as that was.)

I have a friend who was engaged on the third date with a guy, and they’ve been married for seven years. I know that love can hit you like a ton of bricks, but how is this even close to the right way of going about a marriage?

My latest conclusion on The Bachelor is that it is the female version of MTV’s “Jackbutt” (sorry, I don’t say that word). We are watching women do things to hurt themselves, but we don’t have to feel it, so it’s entertaining. It is the wrong way to go about relationships, but is entertaining to watch a train wreck. I don’t know anyone involved, so it doesn’t hurt to watch. Will he choose who I think he should . . . Desiree or Leslie M.? Let’s see! I am honestly interested to see who he chooses, but my interest is confounded by how unsuccessful the “winners'” relationship will be. Perhaps this is cynical of me, but if they truly love each other at the end of this I’m sorry that their meeting is such a terrible story. His choosing her out of 25 contestants isn’t love, it’s just ratings.”

What are your thoughts? And Bachelor fans out there? Or Bachelor scoffers? All are welcome to comment below.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

The enchantment of the first snow.

firstfallofsnowquoteIn DC we woke up this morning to about an inch of snow. Now I know that Bill Watterson said that “an inch of snow is like winning 10 cents at the lottery.” But that still counts as winning, right?

May you all find yourselves waking up sometime soon to a blanket of snow, however thin it may be.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

Inauguration

James got us sweet tickets for the Inauguration on Monday. It was freezing, but once I wore an extra pair of gloves on my feet it wasn’t so bad. Actually, it was so bad, but eventually we lost all feeling in our appendages. James wasn’t super keen on going to the whole ordeal, but I used the “this will be a story we tell our grandchildren” argument, the same one we used for that time we trekked up to see some glaciersinaugurationmontage

Plus, we got to see cool famous people like Mitchell from Modern Family and Beyoncé. I spent a lot of the afternoon analyzing my hair in the mirror, wondering how long it would take to grow it out into Beyoncé tresses. You can see a play-by-play of the Inaugural Wonder that was Queen B here.  I realize that now it has come out that she lip-synced it, and I don’t even care. You can’t lip-sync hair like that. enhanced-buzz-23170-1358792770-8

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 6 Comments

Last Saturday.

January Saturdays have taken on a delightfully lazy quality that sometimes means still being in bed in the afternoon watching Parenthood and eating under the covers. I can’t complain.

But this past Saturday we were reminded of why we love living on Capital Hill. It was one of those sunny Saturdays where you just have to get out and walk around, soaking it all in.DSC_4215 lavendersunnyday

This city just doesn’t stop growing on me.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

Gathering moments six months in

It’s been six months already. Untitled-2

Over Christmas break, my friend Rachel passed on some pictures that she took the week of the wedding. Now, we have 600+ stunning photos from our actual photographer that we love so we really don’t need any more photos. But looking through the pictures Rachel took was so much fun because she took the non-professional type, where she has captured every awful or awkward expression that anyone made all weekend. They were the sniper style photos, taking while we were goofing around, and with such an un-intimidating camera that we didn’t feel the need to stop. These won’t be the type that fill frames on my walls… but I can’t stop smiling and laughing every time I look through them.

Untitled-1

Of course, I don’t think I ever will get tired of seeing photos that friends snapped that day. True, they start to look the same to everyone else. But to me, that day is made of a million moments, every one individual and special. I will never grow tired of gathering them together and looking them over, never tire of remembering them.

And after all, it’s only been six months.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

What’s wrong with Downton Abbey

This is really a great time for TV. It’s cold, which makes me want to stay inside and watch it, plus we have all the award shows to add a little flare when we get stuck with reruns.  Admittedly, I don’t really pay attention to all of the awards, but I can’t get enough of the clothes. (My friend Anna gave a particularly nice recap of some of the best and the worst from the Golden Globes – check it out here.)

But the real clothing to watch is on Downton Abbeyf04

Did you catch seasons 1 and 2? Here is a summary in one sentence: Really rich and privileged family struggles against all odds to keep their estate and retain their old order attitudes throughout the many changes undergone by the aristocracy during in pre-World War II England, while their servants provide a counter perspective.

In theory, I should love Downton Abbey… and I do, sort of. I love all BBC miniseries, and this isn’t technically by the BBC, it is still a British miniseries. There are costumes, and stodgy butlers, and Maggie Smith. I devotedly watched season one, and two, and I am trekking along with season three, but I don’t know how much longer I can take it. Downton Abbey is far from being a fine British miniseries along the likes of Cranford, Wives and Daughters, or any of the lengthy Jane Austen remakes. Instead, it is like a tiresome American soap opera with better clothes, good accents, and more servants.

The most endearing thing about watching a British period piece is the utter grace with which the characters welcome total tragedy.  The women of Cranford walk in to financial downfall with a stiff upper lip and touching camaraderie. The couple in He Knew He Was Right slowly watches their marriage fall apart without plunging into undo dramatics. The family in North and South has their entire station in society downgraded and they make the best of it.

But the Grantham clan? They fall apart and resort to pathetic bickering and scheming over anything.

Not that they would have to, because Julian Fellowes is not actually  going to let anything bad happen to the inhabitants of Downton Abbey. Lady Mary throws decorum to the wind and ruins her reputation with some Turk? Don’t worry, we’ll just keep on finding ways to brush it under the rug. Matthew becomes paralyzed? Never fear – he’ll grow out of it. But oh wait – Lavinia might steal him away! Good thing there is always an epidemic on hand to wipe her out. And most recently, Downton in total peril, ready to close its doors against mounting debts. But luckily, there is a mysterious inheritance that shows up out of nowhere for Matthew. There for a moment, I thought we might actually have some hardship and Matthew might have to do the right thing with British grace and give up the money. But no – another improbable twist and all is well.Mary-and-Matthew-Wedding-matthew-and-mary-32428840-500-333

Unless you are Edith, and nothing is ever well. Life is eternally awful for the unloved middle child, to such an extreme that it becomes comical and you can’t even feel sorry for her. (But have you seen Edith with googly eyes???)

What would have happened in any other British period drama was that Matthew would have married Lavinia and they would have grown old together and had lots of children to fill Downton Abbey. Lady Mary would have married that newspaper man, been filthy rich and absolutely miserable in the big house next door. But over many years, she would have eventually learned valuable lessons. (Think of Daniel Deronda). 

Other issues that bare discussing include the impossible timeline and the fact that it is drifting into, to quote my friend Bethany, “let-us-foist-our-twenty-first-century-ideals-upon-a-different-time-period-and-thus-show-how-enlightened-we-are-now territory.” I invite you to hop on over to her blog to hear a far better critique than I am offering here.

Of course, I would be hypocritical if I didn’t admit that I am still going to be glued to my screen to see how things shake down for the Downton crew. I’m hoping for some real tragedy experienced with poise and sharp wit, but if not, I know a lot of other good miniseries that can fill the void.  And admittedly, hours of obnoxious melodrama are all worth it when Maggie Smith opens her mouth.

Plus… the Downton craze has led to some pretty great stuff. Go waste your time here.

  • Ever wonder what Dowton Abbey would be like in paper dolls???? Now you don’t have to.
  • Some characters would be themselves in any area, in any situation. Even Facebook. check out Downton Abbey performed via Facebook.
  • And best of all, if you were watching the whole third season just dying for someone to turn the conversations into jokes about Mitt Romney stereotypes, here it is.

Downton Abbey watchers, what are your thoughts?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 13 Comments

Right now I’m loving…

It’s cold, and dreary, and the weather doesn’t even have the good sense to stay consistent or give us a gold old fashioned now-you-can-stay-inside-all-week snowstorm.

But despite this, there are a lot of things that are making me pretty happy these days. Here are some of my favorite things right now, all first world luxuries of course.

RightnowI'mloving

  1. Clementines. These are like fruit crack to me. Don’t give me some speech about sugar in fruit — if it grows, it’s good, and in the barren squash and kale killed scene that is the produce section in winter, these are a welcome gem.
  2. JCrew Factory Chambray shirt. I’m obsessed. I would wear it every day if I didn’t fear people remembering it and judging me. It’s the perfect counterpart for colored pants (see below) and I love it so much that I bought James sister a matching one for Christmas.
  3. VS Beauty Rush Shiny Kiss Lipgloss in Candy Baby. On the days where it is a messy bun don’t care sort of day (which has been happening a lot lately) nothing makes me feel as put together as  good lip gloss. Unfortunately, most lipgloss has glitter undertones and the person I’m kissing these days has an intense aversion to anything sparkly as glitter is “the Herpes of craft supplies.” This one however is glitter free, faintly tinted, and stays shiny for a long time.
  4. Smitten Kitchen Cookbook. People, this cookbook has beauty of coffee table glossy page proportions. I read it like a novel. Deb not only has the best, easy to follow recipes, she also has the funniest stories to accompany every dish. Not all of my efforts have been totally successful, but I blame me, not the book.
  5. Colored pants. I am pretty sure that the last time that colored pants were in with this much fervor, I was in third grade and said pants had stirrups. I have been waiting for colored jeans and turtle necks to be back in since then and I am pumped,  gleefully jumping on the let-your-legs-carry-your-outfit bandwagon with mustard, green, and red pants, and I have my eye on these plum ones. All of the above go so well with my neutrals (read: STRIPES and CHAMBRAY).
  6. Polka Dot shirt. Don’t  have one yet, but I feel that polka dots are the next stripes, and if not — don’t tell me. Let me live in happy dotty ignorant bliss. (In a world where I was rich, I would have multiple ones, including this one and this one.
  7. Starbucks Instant Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate. I think it is a crying shame that Starbucks stops carrying all the awesome holiday drinks practically the day after Christmas [classic First World Problem right here, I know]. I have been bemoaning this fact to no end and then I found that they sell an instant version at Safeway, the whole box costing approximately the cost of 2 tall drinks at the store. Add a little whip cream and some sea salt on top and it tastes [almost] like the in-store version.
  8. Sparkly mini. Another wish list item that I am crushing on from afar. Would I actually wear said sparkle number frequently enough to justify it? Probably not. But I am just a little mesmerized by the wearable disco ball concept. Of course, the Glitterphobe mentioned above is not exactly hospitable to sequins either. But what about a tiny investment in this super cheap one?

What are you loving right now?

(Ps: Not shown — what I’m hating right now: Peplum anything. And yes, this is totally an envy based hate. They are adorable on perhaps 1% of the population but I keep trying to subjugate my tall hippy figure to them and it is NOT WORKING. Not all of us can be Naomi Davis. Pretty sure we were all forced to accept them as fashionable when all of Hollywood got pregnant and needed to cover those baby bumps… so now we all just look pregnant. They also make me think of women like these.)

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 21 Comments

Tales from the DMV

I think  I suffer from Post Traumatic French Bureaucracy Disorder.

Birthed during the time I spent living in France, this symptom means that I fundamentally don’t believe in success when it comes to any sort of bureaucratic process.

Every time something went wrong, messing up my legal information so I didn’t get paid for months, losing all my official visa information necessary to get some stamp in my passport, etc. I spent so much time presenting myself at different official bureaus all over the city, every possible document needed in perfect order,  only to be told that I couldn’t get whatever I had come for. The reasons varied from “The requirements changed” to “the person who has the stamp to do this is at lunch” to “we can only approve things on Wednesdays before noon” to “this has to be mailed in, not brought by hand” to “we don’t do this anymore.” I would hang my head and turn to leave, as the person who had just turned me away would call out a chipper au revoir.

In this respect, D.C. is rather French. My dealings at the DMV have been nothing short of infuriating, with endless lines and pointless shuffling from one room to the next, only to be told at last that some tiny thing was wrong and I had just wasted hours of my time. Unfortunately, one of the least romantic parts of getting married is that there are lots of trips to the DMV.  Name changes, car titles, new license, parking pass. And for each of these things there is a stack of paperwork, confusing paperwork that often necessitates an illogical order.  I spent at least 8 hours in the DMV back in August just getting a parking pass. A parking pass – that I paid for. But to get said pass, I practically had to agree to sign away my firstborn child.

But even when I have exactly the paperwork that is requires, I still don’t actually believe that I will be successful. PTFBD.

So today I braced myself for a battle. I needed to get my 10-year old car to get expected, switch my registration, and get my new parking pass. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I have been praying about this for weeks.

Inspection: Passed. Then on to the DMV.

I get there, take my number, and wait in line. Luckily I got there shortly after they opened which meant I only had to wait in line for … 90 minutes. The whole time I wait, looking at my number and nervously leaving through my perfect documents. A soothing recorded British voice keeps calling out numbers. Why do we feel so much more at ease when the voice is British? What is it about that stuffy English voice calling out “E-16 Line 2” that calms the irritated masses at the DC DMV? Because it sure does work. On one side, I have a lady whispering to me under her breath about how she’s been driving without a license for six years but decided that 2013 was the time to turn over  new leaf. On the other side, I have a discontent man who smells like beef jerky. But when that British voice comes piping through the loud speaker, we all sit back and know that it’s going to be ok, eventually our number will be called. I believe in the British voice, almost to the point where I trust in my papers.

Finally, I was called [thank you, British voice].  I already had my comfort snack planned out – pastries from Paul around the corner – for when I was rejected and forced to waste another morning.

But, miracle of miracles, all my paperwork passed and I quickly left with my new No Taxation Without Representation DC Plates (DC- you realize you do actually have representation for most things, right? Let’s not play the victim).

Still, I didn’t let success stop me from heading to Paul for some pastries. Old habits die hard.

Any DMV horror stories out there?

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 18 Comments

Around this home… there are pillows you can’t sleep on.

bedroom

 “How is it that we have 7 pillows on the bed and I can only sleep with one of them?”

 “Because 5 of them are decorative pillows.”

“All 5? Can’t I just use this big fluffy one?”

“No – that’s a sham.”

“What’s a sham?”

“It’s a pillow.”

“So… why can’t I sleep on it?”

“Because some pillows are for looking, not for sleeping.”

kitchen:livingroom

“Are you slowly doing our living room in the primary colors? And how come half the books are sideways?”

“Yes – and because it looks pretty.”

shoes:bags:table

“I had to have this purse.”

“Oh really? Was it a brown leather one? Because yes, you do need one of those. Always good to have something different.”

*******************

I intended to share some pictures of our precious little apartment oh say, 5 months ago. But it is a work in progress (read: how can anyone afford to do things all at once?), one that will probably never end. It is also a little like an Ikea catalogue (yay small city living on a budget!) so you only need to see so much boring European furniture. So instead, here are a couple glances and sound bites from around this home… a place I love so very much.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 20 Comments

After the people are dead, after the things are broken and scattered

Confession: Despite my whining (see here, here, and here), I actually love Proust.

Chances are good that if you have spoken to me any time in the last 4 months, I have probably talked your ear off about Proust at least once. I. Just. Can’t. Help. It.  It is inevitable that anytime you spend a whole semester on one author (much less on ONE BOOK) you suddenly start to see him as the missing link to Understanding of the Universe. But people, Proust really is that link.  And since madeleines are his link to everything, I obviously had to make them.

Madeleine making_22

Before I wax poetic about Proust and share with you the things that I have been mulling over the past several months about memory, food, and Truth of Reality, I have a couple disclaimers:

  • I am not suggesting you go out and read In Search of Lost Time yourself. It is like 3,500 pages long and at least 1000 of those are subtly veiled disturbing sexual innuendoes that I blithely missed about 95% of the time. The remaining 2,500 pages are split evenly between impossibly (albeit poetically) boring descriptions and PURE GOLD, but I’d feel bad if you got mired down in all the dross. If I hadn’t had a professor dragging me through it, there is no way I would have made it through.
  • If you do read Proust, it really is only worth it if you read almost all of it. I am firmly convinced that there are two types of Epics in the world, and they all come down to Harry Potter vs. LOST. In Harry Potter, every seemingly insignificant detail reveals it’s importance in the last book, every question is answered, and you have a great sense of doneness on the last page.  Would it be worth it to just read the first book? NO. In LOST, you could watch every single episode and still not have a clue what happened at the end because there is no conclusion, no answers, no meaning. (Can you tell that I still haven’t recovered? And I am getting pretty scared with every new plot twist and reoccurring LOST actor who turns up on Once Upon a Time. Don’t you do this to me again JJ Abrams!) Proust is of the Harry Potter variety, where so much is tied together in the last couple hundred pages that you pretty much have to underline them continuously.

So now that you know I am not going to actually ask you to read much Proust, let’s talk about it.

makingmadeleines

There are books that talk about the best of life – the heroic, the mighty, the magnificent – and then there are books that talk about the worst of life – the criminal, the poverty, the miserable.

And then there is Proust, who makes a painfully accurate study of mediocrity. Do you know what happens over the course of the 7 volumes of In Search of Lost Time? Almost nothing. It is like one painfully long second-rate dinner party that just won’t end, peopled by beings so tragically normal that they are grotesque and described with Dickens-esque detail. His is the painstaking study of Reality – which is often mediocre at best, disappointing and tragic at worst.

Because for Proust, the real tragedy of life is that it passes, it’s over, and that’s the end. What he wants to find is some way for our lives to be more than just a passing blip, for our memory to be more vibrant than just a list of facts. What he manages to slowly formulate, over all those long tedious pages, is a whole philosophy of what actually constitutes reality, and how we remember it.

makingmadeleines2

If you have read any Proust, or know anything about him, chances are you know about the madeleine. For Proust, there are certain experiences that hold within themselves the Truth of Reality. We taste something, we see something, we smell something, and it awakens within us a memory so rich, that all of the sudden what we are tasting, seeing smelling, isn’t what is before us, but that long gone thing that we experienced. We reclaim little fragments of our paste through these experiences and these are what actually make up reality.

The process that leads to this revelation begins with a soggy cookie. In one of the earliest and most famous scenes from all of Proust’s writings, the adult narrator dips a madeleine into a cup of tea and then eats it, provoking an onslaught of memories so vivid that he feels he has regained a part of his past that had been lost. His entire childhood arises from that one bite. How is food so powerful?

lemonzesting

“But when from a long-distant past nothing subsists, after the people are dead, after the things are broken and scattered, taste and smell alone, more fragile but more enduring, more immaterial, more persistent, more faithful, remain poised a long time, like souls, remembering waiting, hoping, amid the ruins of all the rest; and bear unflinchingly, in the tiny and almost impalpable drop of their essence, the vast structure of recollection.”

kitchenaidlove

Over the next 3,200 pages, the narrator spends a lot of time deeply dissatisfied with reality and life, but he does experience a couple more moments like the one above, moments where something prompts the past to come back, bubbling sweetly up within him. In the final book, he realizes that all along he was wrong about time, about memory. It’s not just a list of things that happen. It is a catalogue of sensations that define us, that hold within themselves the greatest memories.

 “An hour is not merely an hour, it is a vase full of scents and sounds and projects and climates, and what we call reality is a certain connection between these immediate sensations and the memories which envelop us simultaneously with them.”

makingmadeleines3

So what does this have to do with me, with you?

I have been thinking since I read this about what the reality is of this stage of life, and the futile task of recording it. How will I remember the sweet daily normalness of this first year of marriage? I can write blog posts of all the things I’ve done this fall, I can make facebook albums and hang up pictures. I can instagram all the things I eat and tweet about everything I see. But none of those things stop this precious time from slipping away and then it’s gone, and I have nothing but images of a reality that are far from it. There is no way that I can hold on forever to what these months feel like.

But luckily, there are those moments when the memories sweep over us, returning us to that moment when they happened. Years from now, I hope I eat pistachios and think of late nights watching TV. I hope I am offered eggnog and think of our first Christmas together. I hope I smell onions and remember with laughter the time our apartment smelled like them for days. I hope I hear that song we danced to and think of the few moments we got to steal to talk on our wedding day. Pumpkin gooey cake, brussel sprouts, flannel sheets, “Forever Young.”  These things fill the vase of hours that these months have been.

Madeleine making_23

Is there any food for you that embodies an entire memory, person, or time? Or maybe it’s  a song, a sound, a smell, a touch — anything. Leave a comment below to share.

***If you want to try making madeleines, I used this recipe, and looked at these tips. You should also read this fantastic post about making them.

(PS: The gratuitous KitchenAid photos are because I am a little obsessed with our newest kitchen helper and I was trying to master the ribbon-of-batter-goodness-dripping-off-the-mixer picture, the trademark of all good baking posts. This necessitated me standing on a chair at an odd angle practically getting batter on the camera.)

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | 10 Comments